Image Alt



Founded in 1919, Dolavon retains many traces of 19th-century Welsh colonization. The irrigation canal that runs through the city center and its incessant Ferris wheel immerse the visitor in a climate of another era. The typical sheet metal and brick buildings – of Welsh origin – added to the Protestant chapels scattered around the surroundings confirm the particular character of this town, nestled in the Lower Valley of the Chubut River.
The old and intact station of the Central Railroad of Chubut, which stopped working in 1961, maintains a counterpoint with the brand-new headquarters of the Municipality, one of the most modern buildings in the province, conceived as a work space open to the community, with glazed walls.
Every February Dolavon is home to the largest Carnivals in the province. As is tradition decades ago, among its residents and those of the nearby town 28 de Julio they make the floats, which accompany the comparsas that arrive from different points of Chubut.
Dolavon, or “river meadow” in Welsh, also has ideal spots for a quiet picnic day, both in the groves along the irrigation canal in the city center, and in the area of the pedestrian suspension bridge that crosses the Chubut river,a real meadow in the middle of the valley


Located in the Northeast of the province, in the Lower Valley of the Chubut River, Dolavon is 1487 kilometers from Buenos Aires, 36 from Trelew, 95 from Puerto Madryn. It is accessed by national route 25.


– Gastronomy: Welsh pastry
– Cultural tourism
– Carnivals


Built in 1881 to work the excellent wheat that the Welsh colonists harvested in the region, the Dolavon flour mill operated until 1940, when the national government decided to subsidize wheat from the north of the country and caused the decline of the Patagonian wheat fields. Today, intact, the mill is a museum and has a pasta restaurant, prepared with ground flour on site.


Municipalidad de Dolavon
Telephone +54 280 449 2008
E-mail: turdolavon@gmail.com
FB: Turismo Dolavon